Life at Warp Speed

life, faith, food, parenting, homeschooling and just about anything else that is on my mind

Beef and Tomato Potstickers August 21, 2011

Filed under: Chinese,Cookbooks — lifeatwarpspeed @ 8:00 am
Tags: ,

Nothing says summer to me like super sweet and juicy tomatoes growing outside my kitchen window. I love home grown tomatoes whose flavor can’t be matched by the supermarket. So, what do you do with all those tomatoes? During the peak of tomato season, I like to make one of P’s favorites: Beef and Tomato Potstickers from the Pot Sticker Chronicles. My rule of thumb with cookbooks is generally this. The better ones never seem have a lot of expensive glossy pictures. You won’t find any color photos in The Pot Sticker Chronicles, just stuffed to the brim with lots of recipes.

If you know me in IRL, you know that I hate buying frozen store-bought dumplings with a passion. Don’t even get me started on what I think about those Ling Ling ones that you find at Costco and the supermarket. I think it speaks for itself that no Asian market stocks Ling Ling in their freezer section.

Homemade potstickers are always better. When I make potstickers, it is usually major endeavor, I make hundreds at one time to freeze for later use. This is especially helpful when I have unexpected guests over and I need to make something quick. Whether I make 4 dozen or 24 dozen, the time sink is mostly in the wrapping. I usually make up the fillings during the day and allow them to chill in the fridge until I put M to bed a night. Then I set up my wrapping assembly line and turn on my Tivo and get caught up on my favorite shows while I get to work. It helps to wrap my remote in plastic wrap to keep things sanitary.

The filling is easily multiplied, and it doesn’t require that much effort to make 2 or 3 different fillings. Most people stick making with the pork and cabbage types. If you have ever traveled in China, you learn that there are all sorts of different fillings for dumplings. Today, I want to share this beef and tomato one that has a bit of a spicy kick.

Tips:

You should not use a low fat ground beef for this otherwise the filling will not be juicy and as flavorful.

As always whenever you work with ground beef, do not over work the meat as it will make the texture of the beef too tough.

You can choose to seed and peel your tomatoes if you like, but it is not necessary.

Leftover wrappers can be frozen. I wrap them up  in plastic wrap, then again with aluminum foil. Then I put the whole thing in a freezer bag. Thaw in the fridge the next time you make potstickers.

L@WS

Beef and Tomato Potstickers from Pot Sticker Chronicles by Stuart Chang Berman (http://preview.tinyurl.com/18r)

Serves 4 to 6 (approx. 48 potstickers)

PotstickersIngredients:

1 pound ground chuck
3 medium tomatoes, finely minced and drained well
1 bunch green onions, finely minced
6 cloves garlic, crushed and minced
1 whole egg
3 tablespoons dark soy sauce, or mushroom soy sauce
2 tablespoons rice wine
5 tablespoons sesame oil
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon serrano peppers, finely minced
48 potsticker wrappers, store bought or handmade
1 egg white, lightly beaten, optional

Directions:

1.    Combine all ingredients except the wrappers and egg white  in a mixing bowl and mix well with a pair of chopsticks. Transfer filling to a colander and allow to drain.
2.    To wrap dumplings, you can either use lukewarm water or egg white to moisten one side of each skin. Place about 1 tsp of filling in the center of each skin. Fold and crimp into crescent-like shapes. (Here is a youtube video on how to fold potstickers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gpkcOk_i0-I) Place on a floured tray. Potstickers may be cooked immediately or frozen on the tray. Once frozen, transfer the dumplings to a freezer bags for storage.
3.    You can either boil (Northern style) or pan fry (Canto style) the dumplings to your preference. I find that pan frying works best when you freeze the pot stickers first.

* If you want to reduce the heat, scrape out the the ribs and seeds of the pepper first. That’s where most of the heat is in a hot pepper.

 

3 Responses to “Beef and Tomato Potstickers”

  1. Tammy Says:

    Reminds me of my Mom, so many weekends she made hundreds of pot stickers. We ate them fresh and then she froze the rest for later and to give to everyone. Thanks for sharing, I’m going to try this recipe this weekend!

    Like


Leave a Reply

